Are you looking for information about offers, devices or your account?

Please choose your local Vodacom website


No thanks, I want to stay on

Media releases

Vodacom Group

Entries open for the 2024 Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards

Tuesday, 25 June 2024

Anticipation levels in newsrooms across the country will start to rise as the opening date for entries into this year's Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards (VJOY) has been announced as July 10. Entrants can choose from 12 categories in which to enter their work, from Live Reporting and Breaking News; Investigative; Opinion; Lifestyle; Features; Photography; Sport; Financial & Economics; Politics; Sustainability, Innovation in Journalism and the Young Journalist of the Year Award.

"As we commemorate 30 years of democracy in South Africa, we are reminded of the importance of media as the fourth estate that is crucial to our democracy. Ethical, independent and critical journalism holds those in power accountable and brings transparency to affairs that matter. Coinciding with 30 years of democracy, Vodacom South Africa celebrates 30 years of connecting South Africans and we are proud to be continuing our legacy of honouring excellence in journalism across a range of categories, recognising some of South Africa's finest reporters and most newsworthy stories. Support for journalism remains paramount as the sustainability of journalism creates well-informed and connected societies," said Takalani Netshitenzhe, Director for External Affairs at Vodacom South Africa.

The judging panel for this year's awards will once again be led by convener Mapi Mhlangu, who will guide her fellow judges as they debate the nuances of entries to decide which is the very best of the best. From 3 – 5 July, Mhlangu will host two daily virtual media roadshows to inform interested entrants about the rules of the competition, and entry mechanisms.

"Despite the significant strides made, the journalism sector faces numerous challenges today. These challenges demand a steadfast commitment to upholding ethical standards, reporting with integrity, and navigating the complexities of our time. As we imagine the next decade, there is no room for failure in sound journalistic storytelling. The future of our country relies on the dedication of journalists to uncover the truth, spark conversations, and drive positive change. I encourage all journalists to submit their best works to the Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards and be part of celebrating what has been achieved in the past 30 years", said Mapi Mahlangu.

Journalists must enter their best work produced between 01 August 2023 and 31 July 2024, at Entries open on 10 July and close midnight on 24 July, no late entries will be accepted.

Finalists chosen from the five regions will compete at the national finals that will be held on 31 October:  

  • Region A: Gauteng
  • Region B: Free State, Northern Cape, Northwest and Limpopo
  • Region C: KwaZulu-Natal and Mpumalanga
  • Region D: Western Cape
  • Region E: Eastern Cape

The Vodacom Young Journalist Award offers an educational boost to nurture upcoming newsroom talent.
Regional category winners receive R5 000, national category winners, R10 000, and the overall Vodacom Journalist of the Year winner, R100 000. In the case of joint winners, prize money is shared.  

View previous press releases
Entries open for the 2024 Vodacom Journalist of the Year Awards | Vodacom Group